Fresh hope as CCM announces teams

Monday April 11 2011

By The Citizens Reporters, Dodoma.
After two days of guessing and speculating, the ruling Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM) last night announced a new  secretariat team, with former permanent secretary in the ministry of Water and Irrigation, Mr Wilson Mukama becoming the party’s new secretary general.Mr Mukama replaces Yusuf Makamba, a man whose name will, however, remain indelible in the CCM leadership hierarchy as his son, Mr January Makamba, takes up the post of head of foreign affairs, replacing Mr Bernard Membe, the minister for Foreign Affairs and International Co-operation.But political analysts said CCM should go a step further beyond the changes of personalities by enabling the party cope with the current competitive political environment.

Apart from his new docket, the younger Makamba, who is the MP for Bumbuli in Tanga Region, is also chairman of the parliamentary committee on energy and minerals, another demanding docket. Except for Captain (rtd) John Chiligati who was the party’s publicity secretary, the rest of the secretariat comprises fresh faces now tasked with the duty of handling CCM’s day-to-day affairs.

Chiligati, who has been replaced by Mr Nape Nnauye is now CCM deputy secretary general for Mainland while Vuai Ali Vuai becomes his Zanzibar counterpart. Mr Chiligati takes over from Captain (rtd) George Mkuchika while Vuai takes over from Saleh Ramadhan Feruz.

The party’s National Execution Committee (NEC), one of the ruling party’s topmost decision-making organs, also announced names of members of its Central Committee, notably dropping political heavyweights such as Rostam Aziz and Andrew Chenge.

Reached for comment in the Kenyan capital, Nairobi, last night, a political analyst with Mzumbe University, Dr Elisante Ole Gabriel, said: “The changes will be a really big step forward, if and only if, the newly picked guys, especially the secretary general, will strategise politically. Politics is now very competitive.”

Dr Gabriel said CCM should understand that problems that need political solutions should be solved politically while non-political problems such as the Richmond power issue, should be solved on basis of economic analysis.Mr Bashiru Ally, a lecturer at the University of Dar es Salaam, said CCM should look at the political environment beyond the change of guard and faces. Mr Ally said the agenda of the ruling party should focus on how to cope with the big challenges such as poverty and the call for constitutional reforms.

He said he has confidence in Mr Mukama and Capt. Chiligati’s understanding of what entails CCM politics whose performance will be energised by the youthful input of Nape Nnauye and January Makamba.Dr Benson Bana, the head of the Department of Political Science and Public Administration at the University of Dar es Salaam, CCM should not end up by changing leadership faces.

“What is needed is not the change of faces. The party needs to reform itself starting from top regional, district and grassroots levels,” said the political scientist.Past secretaries general include Mr Pius Msekwa, Daudi Mwakawago, Rashidi Kawawa, Horace Kolimba, Lawrence Gama, Phillip Mangula and Yusuf Makamba.

Announcing names of new CC members, CCM chairman, President Jakaya Kikwete, warned party members who have been involved in graft scandals to cleanse themselves within three months.Mr Kikwete said failure to do will force the party to take punitive measures against them. He did not name names. He gave the names of Mainland CC members as Abdulrahman Kinana, Zakia Meghji, Abdallah Kigoda, Steven Wassira, Pindi Chana, William Lukuvi and Constancia Buhiye.

Zanzibar CC members are: Dr Hussein Mwinyi, Dr Maua Daftari, Samia Suluhu Hassan, Shamsi Vuai Nahodha, Omari Yusuf Mzee, Makame Mbarawa Mnyaa and Mohamed Seif Khatibu.Members of the party’s secretariat are: Wilson Mukama, John Chiligati, Vuai Ali Vuai, January Makamba (Foreign Affairs), Mungulu Mchemba (Finance and Economic Affairs), Asha Abdallah Juma (Organisation) and Nape Nnauye (Publicity).

President Kikwete also named new NEC members as Anna Abdallah, Peter Kisumo, Mungulu Mchemba, January Makamba, Ali Juma Shamhuna, Emmanuel Nchimbi, Wilson Mukama and Haji Omari Kheri.

Reported by Lucas Liganga in Dar es Salaam and Mkinga Mkinga in Dodoma.