JPM names Kassim Majaliwa Prime Minister

Thursday November 19 2015

Kassim Majaliwa is a Tanzania's 5th government

Kassim Majaliwa is a Tanzania's 5th government Prime Minister-elect  

By Louis Kolumbia, Mwananchi Digital

Dar es Salaam. Member of Parliaments today have casted 258 votes equivalent to 73.5pc of all 351 casted votes enough to endorse Mr Kassim Majaliwa as Prime Minister elect after being nominated by President, Dr. John Magufuli.

Following the endorsement, Speaker Job Ndugai said the Premier elect was expected to be sworn in tomorrow at the Chamwino State House in Dodoma.

According to results, 91 votes equivalent to 25.9pc of all casted votes opposed nomination of Mr Majaliwa. Two votes equivalent to 0.06pc were rejected.

Announcing results during this morning's  Bunge session in Dodoma, House Secretary Dr. Thomas Kashilillah said the parliament had a total of 394 MP’s and that only 369 had registered with the organ while 189 were required to make the quorum.

Announcing the House decision, Speaker Ndugai congratulated the PM elect for the faith the President and the House had entrusted on him. He assured him and his upcoming cabinet full support in ensuring the people are served with integrity in achieving development goals.

Hisrory shows, the PM elect was born on December 22, 1960. He joined Mnacho Primary School between 1970 to 1976. He then joined Kigonsera Secondary School between 1977- 1980.


From 1991 to 1993, Mr Majaliwa joined Mtwara Teacher’s Training College before joining the University of Dar es Salaam in 1994 for tertiary education, where he graduated in 1998. Later on, he joined Stockholm University for further studies.

He has served the government in different positions since 1984 when he joined Public Service as a teacher in Lindi Region. He has also served a district and region Teacher’s Union Secretary before becoming the District Commissioner.

He was elected MP for Ruangwa Constituency in 2010. Retired President, Jakaya Kikwete appointed him Deputy Minister into Prime Minister’s Office for Regional Administration and Local Government specializing in Education where he served to the expiry of the 4th phase government.