Vodacom set to award VPL champs Sh80m

Sunday May 31 2015

Young Africans players and officials celebrate

Young Africans players and officials celebrate after winning Tanzania Mainland Vodacom Premier League 2014/2015 season. The team will pocket Sh80.4 million from the league sponsors, Vodacom Tanzania. PHOTO | FILE 

By Majuto Omary

Dar es Salaam. Newly crowned Tanzania Mainland Vodacom Premier League champions Young Africans will pocket Sh80.4 million, the sponsors said yesterday.

The league, which featured 14 teams, will see the runners-up, Azam Football Club taking home Sh40 million cash prize and the third winner Simba Sports club receiving Sh28 million. The fourth placed team, Mbeya City will pocket Sh22 million.

Announcing the prizes in Dar es Salaam, Vodacom Tanzania Public Relation manager Matina Nkurlu said that the league top scorer, Simon Msuva of Young Africans Sports Club, will pocket Sh5 million.

Nkurlu said the best goalkeeper will be awarded Sh5 million while the best player of the season will also pocket the same amount. Others prizes will be for the best coach, referee and the most disciplined team and player.

He said that they have increased prize money in each category in order to promote the game and talents.

“The increase of the prizes confirms the company’s commitment to develop football in the country, we are proud of all the individuals who have participated in the 2014/15 VPL. A lot has been achieved and we congratulate the winners in various categories,” he said.

Nkurlu noted that without cooperation with other stakeholders, including the government, Vodacom Premier League could not achieve progress this season which officially ended on May 9.

Meanwhile, Vodacom Tanzania Event and Sponsorship manager Ibrahim Kaude said the prize awarding ceremony will be held before mid-June. Kaude said they are now looking the venue to host the event.

“We planned to award the winners soon after the end of the league, we failed due to technical matters, we gave time Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) to finish their commitment of selecting winners in other categories.

“June 9th or 10th will be the right time to state when we will award the winners,” said Kaude.