Fate of 19 blacklisted universities awaits TCU

Tuesday September 05 2017
pic TCU

The fate of 19 higher learning institutions, which were barred from admitting new students in the 2017/18 academic year for irregularities, will be determined after the Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) finishes going through their reports.

In July, TCU barred 19 higher learning institutions from admitting students in the next academic year for failing to meet admission requirements. The TCU also delisted 75 courses taught at those institutions.

Speaking to The Citizen during a telephone interview yesterday, the TCU admission director, Dr Kokuberwa Mollel, said all universities had submitted their reports to TCU in relation to directives they were given.

“We will only be in a position to decide which is which after going through the reports submitted to us by the 19 higher learning institutions,” Dr Mollel noted.

When asked whether those that would to meet the requirements would be allowed to enrol students after the expiry of the deadline, Dr Mollel insisted that everything would be known after the TCU finishes going through the reports. Time for enrolment of new students for the 2017/18 academic year elapsed on August 30.

According to Dr Mollel, TCU is assessing the universities, which were barred from registering new students.


Confusion and anxiety gripped the academia in July following TCU’s decision to bar 19 higher learning institutions from enrolling students for the 2017/18 academic year.

Some affected universities feared the impact of the TCU move on their respective reputation and plans for the new academic calendar. The decision, however, does not affect continuing students.

Prospective students were caught unaware by the decision, which came just four days before the enrolment time. Universities across the country resume classes this September for the new academic year.

Nearly 33,000 candidates, who sat their Form Six national examination in 2017 scored first and second divisions to qualify for direct entry into university. Over 20,000 others with division three and below are also expected to seek enrolment in colleges for training that corresponds to their grades. Higher learning institutions, which were barred from admitting students are Eckenforde Tanga University, Jomo Kenyatta University, Kenyatta University, United African University of Tanzania, International Medical and Technological University (IMTU) and the University of Bagamoyo.

Others are St Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences, Archbishop James University College, Archbishop Mihayo University College, Cardinal Rugambwa Memorial University College, Kampala International University Dar es Salaam College, Marian University College and St John’s University of Tanzania Msalato Centre, St John’s University of Tanzania.

The list also includes Marks Centre, St Joseph University College of Engineering and Technology, Teofilo Kisanji University (both Mbeya and Tabora campuses), Tumaini University, Mbeya Centre and Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College (KCMC).

From the decision, the government of Kenya through its Education Cabinet Secretary, Dr Fred Matiang’i, announced to close Kenyatta University (KU) and Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT), which had campuses in Arusha.