Monday, September 11, 2017

Yanga shine as Mtibwa go top

Singida United defender Salum Kipanga (left)

Singida United defender Salum Kipanga (left) battles for the ball with striker Amos Charles of Mbao FC during their Mainland Premier League match at the Jamhuri Stadium in Dodoma yesterday. Singida won 2-1. PHOTO | SAID KHAMIS 

By Thobias Sebastian @TheCitizenTz

Njombe. A first half goal by striker Ibrahim Ajib condemned hard-fighting Njombe Mji to a 1-0 defeat to Young Africans in an exciting Mainland Premier League match at the Sabasaba Stadium here yesterday.

Ajib, who joined Yanga two or so months ago from their arch-rivals Simba, beat goalkeeper David Kisu with a sizzling shot in the 16th minute to give George Lwandamina’s men their first win of the season.

At the Jamhuri Stadium in Dodoma, Singida United, who are under the tutelage of former Yanga head Hans van Pluijim, notched up their first victory of the season with a 2-1 win over Mbao FC.

They scored their goals through Mudathir Yahya and Michael Katsavairo in the 27th and 59th minutes respectively, while Habibu Kayombo scored for Mbao in the 42nd minute. In Morogoro, Mtibwa Sugar capitalized on a home ground advantage to squeeze a 1-0 win over Mwadui at the Manungu Stadium.

The all-important goal for the hosts was netted by Selemani Kihambwa in the 20th minute.

Iringa’s Lipuli FC, who launched their league campaign with a one-all draw with defending champions Yanga two weeks ago, downed Stand United 1-0.

Lipuli, fighting to register win in the topflight, scored the goal though Jerome Lambele in the 78th at the Kambarage Stadium in Shinyanga.

At the Sokoine Memorial Stadium in Mbeya, hosts Mbeya City succumbed to a shock 1-0 defeat at the hands of Mtwara’s Ndanda FC.

Yesterday’s results means Mtibwa Sugar are now at the top of the league with six points from two games.

Line-ups: Yanga vs Mji

Yanga:- Youthe Rostand, Juma Abdul, Gadiel Michael, Andrew Vicent, Kelvin Yondan, Papy Kabamba, Juma Mahadhi, Thabani Kamusoko, Donald Ngoma, Ibrahim Ajib and Emmanuel Martin.

Njome Mji:- David Kisu, Agaton Maounda, Remmy Mbuligwe, Raban Kambole, Peter Mwangosi, Joshua John, Awadh Salum, Hassan Kapalata, Notkely Massasi, Ditrim Nchimbi and David Nakpa.