Tanzania U-17 women team to start in 2nd round of 2022 India’s World Cup qualifiers

Tuesday May 11 2021
Queeens pic

Tanzanian Women National Football team’s players celebrate after scoring in a past match. photo | FILE


Dar es Salaam. Tanzania U-17 Women Football team will start in the second round of India’s 2022 World Cup qualifiers.

According to a statement issued by the African Football governing body Caf, Tanzania gained advantage after being among the highest-ranked teams in the qualifications.

Apart from Tanzania, other top-ranked teams are from Ethiopia, Uganda, Burundi, Djibouti, South Africa, Zambia and Namibia.

Also in the selections are Botswana, Morocco, Egypt, Cameroon, Sao Tome, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Nigeria, Ghana and Niger.

The statement says that the first round will include the 10 less-ranked teams. Five teams from the 10 less-ranked will qualify for the first round. The teams that will compete in the first round are from Benin, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, DR Congo, Mauritania, Kenya, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone and South Sudan

A total of 29 countries will participate in the qualifiers; but, only three will make the trip to the U17 Fifa World Cup: a record number for this category.


The statement also says that the third round will include the 12 teams which qualified in the second round. The fourth round will include the six teams qualifying from the third round - and the winners will qualify for the World Cup. “Caf referred to the last three editions (2020, 2018 and 2016) and evaluated the participating teams by the rounds to which they qualified to rank them by points,” says the statement. Countries that will represent Cecafa Zone are Tanzania, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea and South Sudan.

Cosafa teams are South Africa, Zambia, Namibia, Botswana while Unaf are Morocco, Egypt. Uniffac teams are Cameroon, DRC, Sao Tome, Equatorial Guinea. Also in the list are the Wafu (A) Zone teams of Senegal, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Sierra Leone and Mauritania. Wafu B are Nigeria, Ghana, Benin and Niger.