TZ chooses Magufuli as 5th president

Thursday October 29 2015

Tanzania's fifth president Dr Magufuli

Tanzania's fifth president Dr Magufuli 

The National Electoral Commission (NEC) has declared Dr John Magufuli Tanzania’s fifth president after the General Election was held Sunday on October 25, this year.

Dr. Magufuli has won a total of 8.882.935 votes  which is equivalent to 58.46 per cent of the total votes cast.

His nearest opponent, Chadema's Lowassa pocketed 6,072,848 votes which equals to 39.97 per cent.

Magufuli was nominatedas CCM's presidential candidate for the 2015 election, besting Justice Minister and former UN Deputy Secretary General Asha-Rose Migiro and African Union Ambassador to the United States Amina Salum Ali for the party's nomination.