President Magufuli appoints new DCs and 41 District Executive Directors

Monday August 13 2018

 Chief Secretary, Ambassador John Kijazi,

 Chief Secretary, Ambassador John Kijazi, 

By LudgerKasumuni @TheCitizenTZ

Dar es Salaam. President John Magufuli has today, August 13, appointed two new District Commissioners (DCs) and 41 new District Executive Directors (DEDs), who will be sworn in Dodoma on Wednesday.

The Chief Secretary, Ambassador John Kijazi, said other DEDS and DCs who had been transferred are required to report to their new working stations soon.

“All new appointees are required to come to Dodoma for the swearing in ceremony, which will be held on Wednesday, August 15,” he said.

Under the new changes in the office bearers of local governments, the President has appointed new women faces, senior Immigration Officers and Senior Police Officer to hold the post of DED.

The President also appointed a Senior Superintendents of Police, SSP Stephen Katambi, as a Director of Mbeya City Council where a popular politician, Mr Joseph Mbilinyi alias Sugu, reigns as a legislator.

Political pundits say that since Mbeya City has become the stronghold of the opposition party, Chadema, the newly appointed director, who is a professional police office is facing the challenge of balancing the interests of electorates and championing for the rule of law.


Other regions, which are affected by the new changes are Dodoma, Singida, Coast, Ruvuma, Katavi, Kigoma, Tanga, Morogoro, Kagera, Lindi, Arusha, Kilimanjaro, Songwe, Njombe, Iringa, Rukwa, Tabora, Mara and Geita.