TCU de-registers Moshi varsity, suspends others

Saturday November 10 2018


By John Namkwahe @johnteck3

Dar es Salaam. Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) has de-registered the Stefano Moshi Memorial University College (SMMUCo)--Town Centre and ordered management to transfer its continuing students to the SMMUCo’s main campus at Masoka in Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region.

The higher education regulatory agency has also suspended four universities from admitting new students for the academic year 2018/19 and ordered the suspended universities to transfer the continuing students pursuing different nine degree programmes to qualified institutions.

The universities that were recently banned from admitting new students include; the International Medical and Technological University (Imtu) for students pursuing Bachelor of Medicines and Bachelor of Surgery, Bachelor of Science in Nursing and the Songea-Ruvuma based Archbishop James University College (Ajuco) for students pursuing Doctor of Medicine.

Others include; the Stefano Moshi Memorial University College ( SMMUCo) for students pursuing (Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communication, Bachelor of Arts in Public Administration and Management), and the Lushoto-Tanga based Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University (Sekumu) for students pursuing (Bachelor of Education Special Needs (Arts), Bachelor of Education Special Needs (Science), Bachelor of Science with Education and Bachelor of Laws.

This was announced by the TCU executive secretary Prof Charles Kihampa at a press conference held at the TCU’s offices in the city yesterday.