Monday, September 11, 2017

Protest over CUF decision to revamp MPs leadership

Mtwara Urban lawmaker, Mr Maftah Nachuma

Mtwara Urban lawmaker, Mr Maftah Nachuma 

By Alawi Masare @AMasare

Dodoma. Deputy Speaker Dr Tulia Ackson has today, Sept 11, announced changes in the leadership of CUF MPs with Mtwara Urban lawmaker, Mr Maftah Nachuma, being named the chairman of the group.

Dr Ackson said the Speaker received the report on the election of new leaders from acting CUF secretary general, Ms Magdalena Sakaya, on September 8, 2017.

Kinondoni MP, Mr Maulid Mtulia, is now the chief whip while Ms Rukia Kassim becomes the secretary of the caucus.

Dr Ackson said Ms Sakaya's report followed their meeting on September 6, 2017.

However, the new leadership was disputed by Malindi MP, Mr Ally Salehe, who said they elected Mr Abdallah Mtolea (Temeke) to replace Ms Riziki Shahali whose membership in the National Assembly ended after she and seven others were stripped of their party membership.

Mr Saleh sought Speaker's guidance on the matter.

In her response, Dr Ackson said it was an intra-party issue which could not be discussed in the Parliament.

"What I see here is that one camp of your party submitted the leadership changes to the Speaker and the other camp did not. You can discuss and agree and later submit your common position to the speaker's chair," she said.

CUF is in the leadership crisis with two camps competing.

The camp led by chairman recognised by political party registrar, Prof Ibrahim Lipumba, sacked eight Special Seats MPs and appointed others who were sworn in at the start of the sessions on September 5, 2017.

The other camp led by secretary general, Maalim  Seif Sharif Hamad, doesn't recognise Prof Lipumba as chairman and, in support of Chadema MPs, boycotted the swearing in of the new Special Seats lawmakers last week.