Lugalo to send 11 golfers in Abuja’s IBB Ladies Open

Friday January 11 2019

Angel Eaton.

Angel Eaton. 

By Majuto Omary @majutoy2k

Dar es Salaam. Lugalo Golf Club has selected 17 provisional lady golfers ahead of this year’s IBB Ladies Open Championships, which will be held in Abuja, Nigeria.

Lugalo Golf Club captain, Japhet Masai named the golfers as Sarah Dennis, Sophia Mathias, Amina Khamis, Groly Njange, Zumla Khamis, Khadija Seleman and Semen Bwanguzo.

The others are Amanda Mlula, Joyce Warega, Angel Eaton, Mwanaidi Shakimu, Hawa Wanyeche, Habiba Juma, Vicky Elias, Ayne Magom, Chiku Elias and Hilda Virgo.

Masai said the golfers will play internal competitions and the best 11 would be given the chance to compete in the Abuja tournament.

The championship will be held in April and that a lot of women golfers have already stepped up training with a view to landing top titles.

He said they were determined to make their participation felt in the three-day tournament, which will bring together prominent women golfers from Africa and outside the continent.


“It will be a difficult event because it will draw competitors from Africa and outside the continent, but we are confident that our gofers will win us plaudits. Last year, we sent seven golfers to the championship. Now we have decided to send 11 golfers aiming to dominate the event,” said Masai.

Last year, Angel Eaton won the IBB Ladies Open tournament after carding 237 gross. She also won the longest drive honour in the event that featured 200 golfers from Africa and Sweden.

Also the list of winners were Hawa Wanyeche, who finished fourth and Ayne Magombe, who is also Lugalo club’s golfer, finished sixth. Other golfers who featured in the event were Tayana William, Sophia Mathias, Sara Dennis and Rehema Athumani.

“We have to show our prowess in this event once again. We won the previous edition, but we have to strive to win back-to-back titles even though we understand that it will be tough,” he said. Masai said the club was growing in leaps and bounds since its establishment.