2015 polls add more female MPs to National Assembly

Thursday October 29 2015

Jenista Mhagama

Jenista Mhagama 

By The Citizen Reporter

Dar es Salaam. The October 2015 General Elections have increased the number of elected female MPs, adding to the growing voices of women in the National Assembly.

 The new female MPs from different political parties will join the usual suspects such as the ruling CCM’s Jenista Mhagama representing Peramiho constituency in Ruvuma Region and Chadema’s Halima Mdee representing Kawe constituency in Dar es Salaam Region.

According to parliamentary election results; the new faces include Mboni Mhita (Handeni Rural—CCM), Ester Bulaya, an immediate former CCM special seats MP.

 Bulaya crossed to Chadema in July and won the Bunda parliamentary seat after beating  Mr Stephen Wassira, long-time MP on the ticket of the ruling CCM.

 Bulaya who crossed to Chadema in July scooped 25,508 votes against Wassira’s 19,126 votes.

 Another female MP, who decided to do away with the special seats slot and vie for an electoral parliamentary seat Esther Matiko of Chadema was declared a winner for the Tarime Urban constituency after scooping 20,017 votes against 14,025 votes for Mr Michael Kembaki of CCM.

 “During the campaign rallies I promised Tarime residents that I will work with them to develop our constituency; I just want to assure them that I will honour the promise,” said Ms Matiko.

Other new female MPs are Pauline Gekul (Babati-Chadema), Janeth Mbene (Ileje-CCM), Susan Kiwanga (Mlimba-Chadema), Angelina Mabula (Ilemela-CCM), Magdalena Sakaya (Kaliua-Cuf) and Mary Chatanda (Korogwe Urban-CCM).

These new faces will join veterans such as Mary Nagu (Hanang-CCM) and Margaret Sitta (Urambo-CCM).