Wednesday, September 13, 2017

African Minerals and Geosciences Centre seeks more members as non-payment of fees bite

The acting Permanent Secretary in the Ministry

The acting Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Energy and Minerals, Prof james Mdoe 

By Rosemary Mirondo @mwaikama

Dar es Salaam. The African Minerals and Geosciences Center (AMGC) seeks more and more African countries to join it so as to increase its (the centre’s) scope of  mineral analysis as well as value addition of minerals across the continent.
Speaking during the 37th meeting of the AMCC standing committee in Dar es Salaam today (Wednesday), the centre’s director general Ibrahim Shaddad said increasing the number of member countries is the best way to deal with a challenge of non-payment of membership fee by some countries.

Mr Shaddad was responding to concerns raised by some member countries including Kenya’s Geological Survey acting director general, Mr Shadrack Kimomo who wanted to know what will happen to members like the Comoros who have not paid membership fees.
Answering the query, Mr Shaddad said that currently there were only eight countries on board, noting that the group needs to bring on board some more African countries.
“Every member country has to pay the $62,000 on time in order to benefit from the centre’s activities but we need to bring on board more African countries, even if they don’t pay, they will ultimately be forced to pay us when they require our services,” he stressed.
Meanwhile, the acting Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Energy and Minerals, Prof james Mdoe said during the 40 years of the centre’s existence, it (the centre) has grown from being an East African one to a truly continental body.

He said Tanzania has been benefiting from the centre when foreigners come to increase their capacity on geology and mineral processing in the country, noting however that biggest challenge facing it (the centre) non-payment of fees by some members.

The AMGC’s current members are from Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Burundi, Sudan
Mozambique, Ethopia and Comoros.